top of page

Maurice Ravel



The three movements of Maurice Ravel’s music are each based on a poem from the collection ‘Gaspard de la Nuit, fantaisies à la manière de Rembrandt et de Callot‘  by Aloysius Bertrand – fairy tales with all the dark, mysterious qualities of this genre, which are reflected in the music.


These poems, which reminded me of the story of Ophelia from Shakespeare's Hamlet, inspired the choice of images – a series created in response to my daughter being badly injured in a road accident.

Scarbo 1
Scarbo 2
Scarbo 3
Scarbo 4
Scarbo 5
bottom of page